cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Waste/Sewage System

firsttimer2020
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new to the RV world and haven't messed much with septic systems so please bear with me. I am trying to rig up a septic tank for the camper that my fiance and I will be living in. As of now it's going to be stationary for at least a year or two. I have been trying to research about making your own system and am curious if anyone else has made this set up before. I was wondering if two 55 gal tanks would suffice for two people. Something along these lines with the two tanks plumbed or connected, however you want to say that, together. Then run a leach line from the second tank. We have a 2005 Forest River Cardinal 29rk, if that matters. Also we aren't in city limits, on our own private property.
18 REPLIES 18

RLS7201
Explorer
Explorer
Interesting how RV owners have different experiences with their "Do Dads". We use NO chemicals in either waste tank and have no smell when flushing or dumping.
When flushing the commode, the water and waste create a down flow that creates a down flow of air that keeps the odor going down for a short period of time.
When we dump all connection are tight and the odor follows the waste to its destination. Your mileage may vary................

Richard
95 Bounder 32H F53 460
2013 CRV Toad
2 Segways in Toad
First brake job
1941 Hudson

dougrainer
Nomad
Nomad
mtofell1 wrote:
dougrainer wrote:

RV Holding tank chemicals are NOT for making it smell better. They are used the BREAK DOWN the solids. Doug

I'm no expert on the matter and am not saying you're wrong.... but, if you're right, why do all the chemicals come with varying scents if they are not intended to mask smells?