cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Woodbutchers?

quasi
Explorer
Explorer
I'm a woodworker and have a fully outfitted home shop. I'd like to do a little wood butchery while traveling but not sure what works well for traveling. Any other woodworkers out there traveling with their hobby? If so, what do you bring and how do you bring it?

Jim

Growing old is mandatory,
Growing up is entirely optional.

Remember, It's never too late to have
a happy childhood!

18 REPLIES 18

Chum_lee
Explorer
Explorer
I carry a small (18") electric chainsaw with me. It's handy for cutting firewood up to about 8" in diameter. Several times wood carvers have asked me to cut flat rounds out of fallen lumber for them to carve on. The saw is also handy for clearing smaller trees which block access roads. It's not a workhorse by any means though. Light duty only.

Several times other campers have asked me to clear a few stray branches that block access (clearance) to otherwise perfect campsites. In certain areas, the rangers should be consulted before cutting anything.

Chum lee

Campfire_Time
Explorer
Explorer
quasi wrote:

I think you guys have the wrong idea of my plans. I'm not looking to set up a Production Woodshop. A lathe turning greenwood bowls or a scroll saw making intarsia operate as quietly as a TV and certainly quieter than even the Honda generators.
Jim

Well, that wasn't clear in your OP. You said "wood butchery". That doesn't sound like a quiet activity. Even so, depending on the distance away from the next site, a Honda generator or TV can be heard quite clearly. On a cool day the noise from a lathe or scroll saw would easily carry through a CG. They are not much quieter than a Dremel tool.

I'm not saying not to practice your hobby. All I'm saying is to be conscious of your neighbors. A lot of us go camping to get away from grating noises.
Chuck D.
โ€œAdventure is just bad planning.โ€ - Roald Amundsen
2013 Jayco X20E Hybrid