cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

What Size Telescoping Ladder

1ed
Explorer
Explorer
I have a tt that has a height of 10 ft and I AM looking for a telescoping ladder. My trailer does have a ladder but I want to mount a Pathway Satellite Antenna on the existing ladder and I thought it would be easier to have the additional ladder for this application. I would like to know how tall I should get based on others experiences. Thanks Ed
10 REPLIES 10

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
Did I mention I used to be a professional ladder monikey

I've done 2 rungs (each a foot apart) above the roof but 3 is recommended for safety.
That is why I recommended 14 feet (one foot for The Pythagorean theorem 10 feet for the roof and 3 for safety)

How to "Set" the ladder (proper slope) To get the slant or slope of the ladder right you need a handy Dandy Slope gauge Thankfully you have one... Built in.

With your toes just touching the ladder's "Feet" reach out and grab a rung.

IF you just barely touch it with your fingers.. Too "flat" move feet closer to trailer.

If you have to bend your ram (or the rung hits your wrist) move feet farther from trailer

If, with your arm fully extended the rung falls nicely in the palm of your hand so you grip it like you'd grip it climbing.. Good to go

Be sure to secure the top when you get there Least it blow over and strand you.
Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times

spoon059
Explorer II
Explorer II
I've got a 12'. Its fine for my trailer.
2015 Ram CTD
2015 Jayco 29QBS

Fizz
Explorer
Explorer
Using a short ladder to get on the roof is easy, getting off can be dangerous with nothing to hang onto.

TurnThePage
Explorer
Explorer