cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

New Tow Car

woleary
Explorer
Explorer
Ok, I am looking at buying a new or slightly used Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 6cyl 4x4 as a four on the ground tow car. I am new to toads so I am curious what people will think of this car as a toad, both Good and bad.

I am looking for ones that have manual transfer case so I can put the transfer case in neutral and my understanding is the steering column on those do not lock. What else do I need to be checking for?

What will I need to have done to it once I buy it to make it my Toad?
2009 Itasca Impulse 31C Ford E-450 V-10
10 REPLIES 10

webslave
Explorer
Explorer
I'm going to say that you will be over your tow weight (if it is 5K, which is mostly likely your limit). That curb weight is most likely without any options; any options that you have on that vehicle over what comes on the stripped version will have to be added to that 4875 lbs. along with the weight of your tow equipment (base plate(s), tow bars, auxiliary braking equipment. It all adds up pretty quickly.

The bigger Jeeps are heavy, I had a 2008 Jeep Hemi Commander. It tipped the scales (with all the options) at 6627 lbs ready to tow. I currently tow the Jeep Cherokee in my signature and it tips the scales at 4880 lbs (as weighed at a CAT scale) and the curb weight was "listed" as 4400 lbs. I don't carry anything in the Jeep when I'm towing, so, you can see that my options and tow equipment added almost 500 lbs. to the "curb weight". I used to tow a 3/4 ton RAM 2500 CTD pickup that came in at a bit over 8,000 lbs, but, my diesel pusher couldn't tell it was back there...I could see the truck's mirrors so I knew it was still hooked up. My Jeep Cherokee is so small (comparatively) that unless I'm turning sharply, I can't see it at all. I use the RVi brake's communication system to let me know it is still hooked up...
My 2 cents, your mileage may vary...

Don
Bronwyn