cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Cell Phone Service along Alaska Highway

weasel4
Explorer
Explorer
It appears Cell service may be available along the highway by next year.

News Release
19 REPLIES 19

Veebyes
Explorer II
Explorer II
Being a ham radio operator I have access to the Yukons very good coverage repeater system. Through that I can access the IRLP system, essentially the same as skype as it is VOIP, to contact anywhere without the need of CG WIFI.

It is still magic to be miles away from civilization, where there is no cellphone coverage, & have some mountaintop antenna hear you & relay your voice from repeater to repeater to a computer somewhere then on to a place thousands of miles away to another computer which sends it to an antenna which broadcasts it to somebody walking around with a little handheld radio.

We have had this system long before there was skype just like we were making phone calls from our cars many years before there was the first cellphone.

Ham radio & its repeater systems really come into their own where there is no cell service. You may not be able to contact who you want directly but you can get somebody who can.
Boat: 32' 1996 Albin 32+2, single Cummins 315hp
40+ night per year overnighter

2007 Alpenlite 34RLR
2006 Chevy 3500 LT, CC,LB 6.6L Diesel

Ham Radio: VP9KL, IRLP node 7995

2oldman
Explorer
Explorer
You can turn off your phones anywhere you feel like it.
"If I'm wearing long pants, I'm too far north" - 2oldman

jnharley
Explorer
Explorer
We kept our cell and MIFI devices off while in Canada. We notified our friends and family just before we turned them off and asked them to send emails which we would check when wifi was available. Turned them back on in Alaska and found good to great Verizon service everywhere we went in Alaska. We even had great Verizon 4G service in Denali. Many parts of the Yukon do not even have electrical power let alone cell service.
2015 Dodge Dually