cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will a truck camper fit over the 5er rails in the truck bed?

joebedford
Nomad II
Nomad II
I've been hauling a 5er for 20 years and frankly I'm getting tired of it. I've been thinking of leaving my 5er down south and travelling to / from it for the winter; in fact we done it once already. Our 5er is a toy hauler (2 Harleys) so we got a 16 foot cargo trailer to haul the bikes (about 5000lbs all up). We really didn't like having to stay in motels 4 nights in a row (too much stuff to carry for us and the cats).

I'm thinking about getting a truck camper so we can stay in it vs. motels.

I'll be the first to admit that while I know a lot about RVing, I know next to nothing about truck campers. My very first question is this: will a camper fit OK on top of the 5er hitch rails? The hitch is easy to get out but not the rails.

My second question is: is it reasonable to expect my 2011 Silverado 3500HD CCLB dually diesel to handle a camper and a 5000 pound cargo trailer?

Thanks in advance.
27 REPLIES 27

burningman
Explorer
Explorer
About the Northern Lite 10-2… great choice, after owning six or seven campers since the ‘80s I’ll only own a Bigfoot or Northern Lite fiberglass non-slide.
But about the weight, 3360 is pure fantasy. Loaded to go in the real world it’s around 5000 pounds.
Not to scare you off, your truck will be fine. I’m just bringing you up to speed on what it really weighs, and the same is true for every camper. They’re all a lot heavier in the real world than the “dry weight” spec.

I have a Dodge diesel dually and I sometimes tow a 10,000 pound trailer behind it.
2017 Northern Lite 10-2 EX CD SE
99 Ram 4x4 Dually Cummins
A whole lot more fuel, a whole lot more boost.
4.10 gears, Gear Vendors overdrive, exhaust brake
Built auto, triple disc, billet shafts.
Kelderman Air Ride, Helwig sway bar.

TCBob
Explorer
Explorer