cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

what size truck do i need to tow a 26' trailer

jimmurr
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 2003 chevy silverado with a v6 4.3...will this be able to tow a 26' travel trailer, dry weight approx 5700 lbs. if not what kind of ford f-150 would i need?
i'm new at this and not truck savvy, just retired and purchased this new trailer...but now what? I'd appreciate some help. thanks

❚ Did you see the "Announcement : ★★READ BEFORE POSTING HERE★★"?
    Forum Posting Help and Support is reserved for questions related to posting issues with Open Roads Forum sites, member profile and photo testing, and for reporting account issues. Please avoid using this forum for RV related questions, as doing so can delay responses to your thread. Instead, select the Sub-Forum which corresponds to the subject of your topic. Thank-you!

Moved from FORUM POSTING HELP AND SUPPORT
27 REPLIES 27

PAThwacker
Explorer
Explorer
V6 Chevy Silverado is a 5000 pound max towing capacity truck.
2015 Keystone Springdale Summerland 257rl
Tow vehicle: 2003 GMC K1500 ext lb
Previous: 14 years of 3 popups and a hybrid tt

berniedes
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 2003 chevy silverado with a v6 4.3...will this be able to tow a 26' travel trailer, dry weight approx 5700 lbs. if not what kind of ford f-150 would i need?

Depending on your axle ratio, you should do fine on the flat but your truck will struggle going up the hills

As for a F-150, you cant go wrong with any of the 3 engines, (5.0, 2.7 and 3.5 ecoboost) however, I would go for the ecoboost. I used to have a 2008 F-150 4.6 with the 3.73. Pulling my Autumn Ridge 266rks which has similar length and weight as yours, I was fine except for the hills. it was pedal to the metal screaming up hills between 4000 and 4500 rpm.