cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We got our camper!

Jabbi
Explorer
Explorer
My husband and I have been working toward the goal of buying a camper for a little over four years now. Yesterday, we bought it! We bought a 2018 Prowler Lynx 25LX. We pick it up in a couple of weeks 🙂

I have a couple of questions if anyone wants to answer!

1. Water filtration - what do you do? I would like a filtration system that makes water drinkable rather than buy water. Is a double canister one worth the money if I will be using my RV recreationally, primarily in the summer?

2. Where do I go about finding a screen room for my awning? Can they be installed by us or should I have the dealership install it before I pick it up?

3. What items will make life easier in the camper? I’m used to tent camping.

4. What coffee maker do you use? Lame question but we’re big coffee people and I can’t have a Bunn because the water will get gross when it sits 😞

TIA! I’m just really excited. Our first overnight trip is April 21!
22 REPLIES 22

Vintage465
Explorer III
Explorer III
When I go old school this is what we use; Pre 1964 Revereware 5 cup stove top percolator. Water to the bottom of the basket, 1/2 cup of ground coffee. Put it on the stove on high heat 'til it make the first perc. then turn it down as low as you can but still perc steadily. Perc for 4 min and take it off the heat. Excellent camping coffee. Smells amazing as it percolates too! That is not the factory bubbler on the top. Original bubblers are just about as rare as a brand new Studebaker.
V-465
2013 GMC 2500HD Duramax Denali. 2015 CreekSide 20fq w/450 watts solar and 465 amp/hour of batteries. Retired and living the dream!

Ron3rd
Explorer
Explorer
Lot of good info above. As to coffee, if we have electric, we use our mr. Coffee, same as home. If no electric, we us a Bodum 12 cup French press
2016 6.7 CTD 2500 BIG HORN MEGA CAB
2013 Forest River 3001W Windjammer
Equilizer Hitch
Honda EU2000