cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Trailer leaking fluid

dmorrismorrisd
Explorer
Explorer
I'm a beginner camper - and my travel trailer is leaking what looks like possibly waste (but I'm not quite sure). It's dripping out of one or two pvc pipes. See attached pic and tell me how to stop this leak. It's getting all over the driveway at my RV park. Thank you.
12 REPLIES 12

westend
Explorer
Explorer
Someone needs to determine which pipe the water is exiting from. If exiting from pipe with no valve (without shutoff handle), then, Dr Steve and hussbuss are right, you have a failed check valve to your freshwater tank. If the water exits the pipe with the valve, then, you have a failed valve. If the valve has failed, it is easy to cut the pipe and glue on another PVC valve. They are less than $5 at any decent hardware store. You will also need the PVC glue to install the new valve.
'03 F-250 4x4 CC
'71 Starcraft Wanderstar -- The Cowboy/Hilton

hussbuss
Explorer
Explorer
Agree with drsteve above's answer. Defective check valve allowing fresh water tank to fill.

drsteve
Explorer
Explorer
I don't think you're missing any parts--the overflow hose is supposed to be open. I think your fresh water tank has been pressurized and filled by the park water system, and it's dribbling out the overflow. There is a check valve in the pump that should prevent this, that may be the problem.
2006 Silverado 1500HD Crew Cab 2WD 6.0L 3.73 8600 GVWR
2018 Coachmen Catalina Legacy Edition 223RBS
1991 Palomino Filly PUP

shastagary
Explorer
Explorer
i have that same set up on my trailer they are for the fresh water tank the one with the shutoff valve is the tank drain the other open tube is the vent and over flow for when the tank is full.

dmorrismorrisd
Explorer
Explorer