cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tow Vehicle rating and comfort

jeraco
Explorer
Explorer
Hi All! I'm having trouble deciphering the towing capacity of my truck.

Vehicle stats:
2016 Ford F-150 4x4 SuperCrew
3.5L V-6 EcoBoost
3.3 Axle ratio
GCWR 16100#
Conv. towing trailer cap 10,600#

Would my truck tow a UVW 5000# (6800# GVWR) trailer comfortably? I'm new to RVing and looking to purchase my first. I want to be comfortable towing i.e.having acceleration power and ability to get up inclines. If not, what kind of power should I be looking to get?

I look forward to your input! Thanks-j
28 REPLIES 28

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
@drsteve. Side ramps onto a atv/sled deck. Drive up.
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5” turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

coolmom42
Explorer
Explorer
jeraco wrote:
Hi All! I'm having trouble deciphering the towing capacity of my truck.

Vehicle stats:
2016 Ford F-150 4x4 SuperCrew
3.5L V-6 EcoBoost
3.3 Axle ratio
GCWR 16100#
Conv. towing trailer cap 10,600#

Would my truck tow a UVW 5000# (6800# GVWR) trailer comfortably? I'm new to RVing and looking to purchase my first. I want to be comfortable towing i.e.having acceleration power and ability to get up inclines. If not, what kind of power should I be looking to get?

I look forward to your input! Thanks-j

You will be fine, unless you put a huge amount of heavy stuff in the bed of the truck. That Ecoboost is a towing beast.
Single empty-nester in Middle TN, sometimes with a friend or grandchild on board

drsteve
Explorer
Explorer
Huntindog wrote:
afidel wrote:
Huntindog wrote:
All I could afford wrote:
It is possible to fill a F150 with 5 people, bikes, and food enough that you effectively have zero tow capacity because you have no capacity for the tongue weight
It is possible for me to do that with my 1 ton dually as well.

What, by loading the bed with pallets of water?