cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tow Vehicle rating and comfort

jeraco
Explorer
Explorer
Hi All! I'm having trouble deciphering the towing capacity of my truck.

Vehicle stats:
2016 Ford F-150 4x4 SuperCrew
3.5L V-6 EcoBoost
3.3 Axle ratio
GCWR 16100#
Conv. towing trailer cap 10,600#

Would my truck tow a UVW 5000# (6800# GVWR) trailer comfortably? I'm new to RVing and looking to purchase my first. I want to be comfortable towing i.e.having acceleration power and ability to get up inclines. If not, what kind of power should I be looking to get?

I look forward to your input! Thanks-j
28 REPLIES 28

goducks10
Explorer
Explorer
Get the truck setup properly with a good weight distribution hitch like a Blue Ox or Equalizer thats got built in sway control and you'll be good to go. You've got plenty of truck for that size trailer.

jeraco
Explorer
Explorer
Sounds like the truck would handle it pretty well. My back-of-the-napkin calculation for extra weight is 1750# (people and dogs, 60g water, and stuff (including my battery and propane). That's using 62% of my tow capacity... Does the GCWR assume a full tank of gas, or do I need to add that in too? (eyes roll to back of head)

Thanks everyone for the great info and input!

K_and_I
Explorer
Explorer