cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Too old for a manual transmission?

Ponderosa
Explorer
Explorer
I am considering a HD pickup that has a manual transmission. I have plenty of experience driving a stick, so that is not an issue. What is on my mind though, is whether the aches and pains of an aging body eventually make it hard to manipulate the clutch etc. The cost of this truck is such that it will take me into my 70s to pay it off, god willing I live that long, and then I may be at the point where I would not want to trade and get a new one. So, is it possible to drive a stick into the sunset?
2015 Thor Windsport 32N
26 REPLIES 26

blofgren
Explorer
Explorer
The new Ram trucks with the manual transmission are very easy to drive. The clutch pedal takes very little effort to push, the clutch engages very nice, and the transmission shifts very easily. To top it off the Cummins has tons of low end torque. This, combined with the zero throttle launch feature makes them a beautiful truck to drive.

I just bought a new 2013 Ram 3500 Megacab dually Laramie with the 6.7L Cummins and G56 6 speed manual on Sunday and I do not regret the decision at all. In fact my wife is now planning on taking driving lessons on a manual transmission so that she can drive it! She wanted the truck even more than I did!

If you like the manual I say go for it; I highly doubt you will regret it. That truck will also be very easy to sell in the future because the Cummins with the manual is a very desirable truck.
2013 Ram 3500 Megacab DRW Laramie 4x4, 6.7L Cummins, G56, 3.73, Maximum Steel, black lthr, B&W RVK3670 hitch, Retrax, Linex, and a bunch of options incl. cargo camera
2008 Corsair Excella Platinum 34.5 CKTS fifth wheel with winter package & disc brakes

C_Schomer
Explorer
Explorer
My FIL is 84 and very much still camps and drive his 6 spd manual. Craig
2012 Dodge 3500 DRW CCLB 4wd, custom hauler bed.
2008 Sunnybrook Titan 30 RKFS Morryde and Disc brakes