cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Tandem axle vs single

Igotaname
Explorer
Explorer
What is the towing difference with the axle, tandem/single. Any advantages? Disadvantages? The only thing I can think of is if a tire blows out on a tandem at least you still can pull and your not on the side of the road.
30 REPLIES 30

pbeverly
Explorer III
Explorer III
BarneyS wrote:
Lwiddis wrote:
Snip... Blowing a tire, which will happenโ€ฆand to you, is another. Snip...

Not necessarily! I have been driving for 70 years, 50 of them towing a trailer of some kind, and have never had a blowout in all of those years. Only had one flat tire and had that changed in about 30 minutes.
Barney

I had 2 blowouts last June. One on my way to site and another on the way home. 1st one did $4500 worth of damage. Took it to RV shop 7/5/2021. All the parts needed just arrived about 2 weeks ago.
Ridgeway, SC
2019 26DBH Grey Wolf

JIMNLIN
Explorer
Explorer
I've never pulled a single axle rv trailer but several single axle company cargo trailer used as on site tool trailers.
We finally convinced the company to do away with the all single axle trailers and go with tandem axles on anything over 14' long.
The benefits of a tandem axle trailer far out weighs a single axle trailer...JMO after pulling them for a living.
"good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment" ............ Will Rogers

'03 2500 QC Dodge/Cummins HO 3.73 6 speed manual Jacobs Westach
'97 Park Avanue 28' 5er 11200 two slides

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
Merry Xmas Barney!
Thx for the deleteโ€ฆ.
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5โ€ turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

rexlion
Explorer
Explorer
I greatly prefer single axle trailers. My rear tandem tires would pick up so many nails and screws, it was ridiculous. Plus double the cost for tire replacement.