cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Solar conversion on an ol Six Pac

Sixpacamper
Explorer
Explorer
Hey all! Brand new to the forum and brand new to having a cabover. Just bought a 93 six pac and am looking to fix her up a bit. One thing I'd like to do is slap a solar panel or 2 on the roof to avoid having to use a generator. The other problem is that I'm brand new to solar panels and 12v wiring. My question: Should I just wire the charge controller from the solar straight to the battery like I would if it were the only charging method? Would that somehow mess up the trickle charge coming from the trailer wiring?
6 REPLIES 6

Geewizard
Explorer
Explorer
I have two solar chargers in my travel trailer. One is part of the solar panel installation that came with the trailer (100W on roof). The other is a MPPT solar controller (Morningstart SunSaver) for my portable panels. Both controllers connect directly to the batteries (2-100AH FullRiver AGM).

My TC has the same batteries and the same MPPT controller.
2021 Winnebago Micro Minnie 1708FB
2014 Toyota Tundra Double Cab
300W solar, MPPT controller, LED lights
Xantrex Freedom X Inverter 3000W
2 Fullriver 105AH AGM batteries
Air Lift WirelessAIR and air bags
Hankook Dynapro ATM 10-ply tires

mr_andyj
Explorer
Explorer
Yep 2.

You can have multiple chargers going to the battery and they all play together fine. Many here have 3 chargers at once sometimes... alternator, converter/charger and solar charger. The one with the highest voltage is in charge, lol.

200 watts minimum, 300-350 preferred if you have room. * unless all you want is batt maintenance while stored.
Roof is fine unless you are always in deep shaded forest, in which case the ground probably not sunny either.

Pros for ground use is u can park in shade, put panels in the sun.
cons are you have to always every time deploy your solar system and wires and they are vulnerable and have to be kept safe when u are away.