cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RV decision

Mayborn1
Explorer
Explorer
Hello all, my wife and I have been kicking around the idea of buying our first RV. We have been retired for about 2 years now and this option has been on our minds. Originally we were leaning towards buying a newer travel trailer (around 25’) but after reading numerous comments and articles on the quality and reliability issues with newer travel trailers we have begun to rethink doing this. I’m a fairly good carpenter, woodworker and shade tree mechanic. So, repairing minor issues wouldn’t be a problem. Structural issues on the other hand scare me. Would a motor home be more reliable than a travel trailer or similar? Would an older travel trailer be more reliable (pre-COVID years)? If I go with a travel trailer I will be limited by my tow vehicle (2019 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4) which I estimate to be in the 5K to 6K range. Thanks for any input.
17 REPLIES 17

Mayborn1
Explorer
Explorer
My tow limit is 9400 lbs. I don’t want to max that out but I would like to get a decent size RV that my wife would be happy in. We looked at a few 24’-28’ units and the 25’-27’ seemed to be the sweet spot for us.

deltabravo
Nomad
Nomad
Mayborn1 wrote:
If I go with a travel trailer I will be limited by my tow vehicle (2019 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4) which I estimate to be in the 5K to 6K range.

Never "estimate" things like tow capacity, weight ratings, etc. Find the actual specs and then go from there.

I'd be really surprised if the tow rating on your truck is that low. Heck, my 2017 Colorado has a 7000+ lb tow rating.
2009 Silverado 3500HD Dually, D/A, CCLB 4x4 (bought new 8/30/09)
2018 Arctic Fox 992 with an Onan 2500i "quiet" model generator

Peg_Leg
Explorer
Explorer
Being in Florida puts you in the best area for a used unit. Like you I'm "handy". RV's are put together in sub module units. You may have study a bit on how to access something you want to fix. Don't let it scare you.