Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Newbie Tow Vehicle Help

trimills
Explorer
Explorer
Hi All,

Complete newbie here so please bear with me. Throughout COVID my fiancee and my jobs have become increasingly flexible and don't expect things to change soon. We are looking to buy a travel trailer to take advantage of this flexibility. I have a truck so want to make sure whatever we end up getting can be towed safely with this vehicle, but want to offer us enough space to live and work on the road. I have been doing research about this and it's making my head spin a bit so would love help to make sure whatever we end up getting will be towed safely. Would love advice from those with experience on what my vehicle can tow. Specs below:

- 2018 Ford F150 XLT Supercrew with 5.0L V8 4x4
- Bed length 6.5'
- Payload Capacity: 1,784#
- GVWR: 7,050 (I think based on the sticker in the door)
- Class IV hitch with weight distributing specs of max trailer weight 11,600# and max tongue weight of 1,160#
- I need to have the trailer brake installed, but have back up assist and 7 pin trailer plug already on the truck

I think we can safely tow a TT in the 7,000# - 8,000# GVWR range, but would love the thoughts of those who have more experience of what they think this vehicle can safely handle.

Thanks in advance for any help and let me know if you need any additional information.

Thanks!
22 REPLIES 22

packpe89
Explorer
Explorer
Another Question, How long is the trailer? You may be fine on weight, but if you are over 28-30', then you'll be catching allot of air when trucks pass. The 6.5' bed will help with that. Also consider some stiffer tires. I went from P tires on my F150SCREW 6.5' bed to E loads and made towing better.
Good Luck

Terryallan
Explorer II
Explorer II
trimills wrote:
Terryallan wrote:
bgum wrote:
Check your towing capacity I get 5000 pounds.

I got to ask. where did you get that number? He already stated his tow capacity was 11,600lbs.