cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie: Hybrid trailer questions

Red81
Explorer II
Explorer II

Hi, I've found this forum because I'm researching purchasing a used hybrid travel trailer. 

It all started when planning a trip to Yellowstone. I was searching Facebook marketplace for a trailer to rent and stumbled across a few very old ones for sale.

I have very little money to put into one, but I'm intrigued. I've tent camped all my life and have never once used a trailer or RV. Total newbie. I like the idea of being able to "camp" in the cooler shoulder seasons and stay warm at night. And the convenience of a mini kitchen, a bathroom for nighttime, and a little storage space is really nice. 

But I don't know what I don't know. 

The two I'm looking at currently:

- 2005 Aerolite Cub 21tt. $4000. Owner says everything works. They actually lived it in for a year, and now it's been sitting in storage for a year. They had the black water professionally cleaned before storage. The trailer would need a deep cleaning, but that's okay with me. Also its missing the dining table. How easy are those to replace? It doesn't seem to have any pantry/tall cabinets at all. Could I add those without too much weight?

-2006 Wanderer lite 182dt. $4950. Owner (possibly a dealer) says appliances are functional, but the fridge isn't original and only runs on propane. The unit looks nice aesthetically and ready to use right away. But this one doesn't look to have as much outside storage. 

We're a family of 7, so both HTTs having 3 pull out beds plus the dinette is needed. But we'd just be pulling it with our 2012 Honda Pilot AWD so we couldn't get anything bigger (heavier). I'm already concerned if we could pull one of these with the weight of passengers and food/water/gear.