cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Leveling blocks

Varmintmist
Explorer
Explorer
Ok, newbie question. Since I am a newbie, it only seems right.

2x6 or 2x8? 3 or 4?

I had a little time tonight so I did the setup for loading and driveway camping test run. I had 2x4's so she is leveled with those. I think 2x8s would give me a bit more room, and take up a bit more room in storage and I am pretty sure I can hit the 2x6's. Looked at the Lego blocks, and 45+- bucks for them offends my Scottish side and I dont see a compelling reason to spend the cash beyond weight.
Always cross your chains and grease your balls
07 F250
2019 Surveyor 27'
30 REPLIES 30

maddog348
Explorer
Explorer
WPT-GC ~~ BEST answer yet !!!

WTP-GC
Explorer
Explorer
Classic RVer mentality (for the newbies and experienced):
"We just spent $25K on a new RV but $25 for a bag of leveling blocks that will get used on every trip is way too much money. But let's go buy a $20 board and cut it up."

After years of RVing, we find it useful to keep 2 bags of leveling blocks, 4 pairs of large leveling pads and a small variety of 2x8s and 1x6s on hand at all times. Never do we use them all, but never do we use the exact same assortment of goodies at every campsite.
Duramax + Grand Design 5er + B & W Companion
SBGTF

Westcoasting
Explorer
Explorer
sljohnson1938 wrote:
i agree with the lego blocks. you spend thousands of bucks on an RV. spend a few more and do it right. looks better also.

Use red cedar blocks and stain them with a translucent stain... expensive but you want that right? And it looks better...

dodge_guy
Explorer
Explorer
I had some old deck boards from when I built our deck. I used those and not 2x4’s or 2X6’s or anything. The most I have had to do in 15 years is 2 levels of deck boards. I carried 4X4’s for under the stabilizer jacks!
Wife Kim
Son Brandon 17yrs
Daughter Marissa 16yrs
Dog Bailey