cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hit a bump and lost my transmission

silverfz
Explorer
Explorer
2008 Tundra 155k . Tows a 7k TT. I hit a bump on highway, felt a jerk and then it went into limp mode. Towed it home and all i could smell was burnt oil.
Aamco rebuilt it and promptly a tree fell on it . So now geico has totalled the truck and offering 17k. ...anyway crazy i cannot find anything close to this price for the 10 days i use the truck in a year.I did put brand new tires and brakes before it.

The buy back is 4800 and i am thinking of keeping it as the damage is all cosmetic. nothing mechanical.
I think its a good decision but i have no experience with a rebuilt transmission . Not a factory rebuilt . those were like 8k, so just aamco rebuilt with a new valve body on it. 18k/ 1.5 year warranty just started.

looking for some input rebuilt transmission .Also someone to tell me letting go is a better idea.
i have a jeep wrangler , 2 motorcycles for my personal use [been working from home for 4yr to one or two work trips a year]. My wife has a ford explorer and jetta [work mileage car] . so the truck is used maybe 10-15 days for towing.
2014 avenger 28 bhs
2008 Toyota tundra crew max
guarded by bear the mini dashound
running from payload police edition
30 REPLIES 30

SweetLou
Explorer
Explorer
AAMCO was your biggest mistake. Dump it
2013 3500 Cummins 6.7 Quadcab 4x4 3.73 68FE Trans, 2007 HitchHiker Discover America 329 RSB
We love our Westie

bucky
Explorer II
Explorer II
A pic or a description of the damage would help. Even without seeing it I'd lean towards taking the money and buying it back. There are wrecked trucks everywhere. There is nothing to replacing a bed or front sheet metal damage. The cab wouldn't be that bad even to include paying a shop.
You would have 12 grand to play with.
Puma 30RKSS

ggardne2
Explorer
Explorer