cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Grey water use help

ryanhousley
Explorer
Explorer
RV Newbie here! We just bought a jayco jayflight 17' trailer and need to use it in the blue ridge mtns during the winter. As I understand, the issue with pipe freezing is having water in them. Is it possible to fill the water tank when we need to use it, use the sink/shower/toilet, then drain immediately after? We have septic hookup. Would that keep the lines from freezing? Tks!!
14 REPLIES 14

canoe_on_top
Explorer
Explorer
Are your waterlines above the floor or below? Is the underbelly enclosed and heated? How cold are you anticipating? The 20s one thing. 0, quite another. As mentioned, some RV antifreeze in the holding tanks might help keep the dump valves from freezing.Will you have electric hookup? Some TTs do reasonably well in winter. Many do not, especially if you want to use the water system.Some people get by with winterizing the trailer and using water jugs for drinking and cooking and, maybe, for flushing the toilet? Some Jaycos have insulated and heated underbellies. How long are yoou planning on staying? Lots of questions to be answered before being able to give you a more diffinitive answer.

pianotuna
Nomad II
Nomad II
This thread has some excellent advice.

https://www.rv.net/forum/index.cfm/fuseaction/thread/tid/24160748.cfm
Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp-hours of Telcom jars, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

Bobbo
Explorer II
Explorer II
As has been stated, "draining the lines" is woefully insufficient. You either have to pump them full of RV antifreeze, or blow them entirely out with an air compressor.
Bobbo and Lin
2017 F-150 XLT 4x4 SuperCab w/Max Tow Package 3.5l EcoBoost V6
2017 Airstream Flying Cloud 23FB

Huntindog
Explorer
Explorer
RickLight wrote:
"No permanent damage" is the important fact.