cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Girard on-demand hot water heater?

garryk6
Explorer
Explorer
Many of you know I have been rebuilding and modifying my 1966 Avion for several years now while using it as much as possible.
I have run across a new in the box Girard on demand hot water heater. It will fit our Avion with minor modification. But I don't want to get it if it is not reliable.

That said, let the comments begin!

Thanks!

Garry
Garry K
Wife + 4 kids
Retired Military Family.... Alway's on the move....
2002 F350 CCSB 5.4 6spd 4x4 in AK
1966 Avion C-10 Truck Camper
4 REPLIES 4

JoeChiOhki
Explorer II
Explorer II
Golden_HVAC wrote:
Hi,

On demand might work fine in a home, where water pressure is stable all the time, and they are not using a 1/8 HP pump that changes pressure often.

Also some home units have 100,000 Btu+ heat input required to heat 2 GPM from 45F (in some locations) to 120F needed in the water system.

If your flow changes quickly, it can overheat the tankless water heater for a couple of seconds, and then trip the high temp limit (say 120 or 130F) and then instantly shut off the gas valve, so scald then freeze!

So many have tried some tankless units and returned them to the supplier, buying a normal 6 gallon water heater. Much less expensive, smaller area in the sidewall, and works great when the water input temp is above 55F. For a even longer shower, the fresh water tank at 80F really increases the time you can take a shower.

I found that out while living in Lakeside CA, and the input water got as cold at 45F in the winter. Warm as 75F in the summer. So I purchased a very in-expensive tankless L-10 water heater from Amazon.com It is $129 and has only 37,000 Btu's input gas, so it can heat 5 liters per minute from 55F to 110F. You control the output temperature by speeding up or slowing the water flow through the water heater. There is a dial to control the gas flow, you can increase it or reduce it a little.