cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First travel trailer?

Redwoodcamper
Explorer
Explorer
I have been camping and towing equipment trailers for 15 yrs, but always resisted travel trailers. Always preferred tent camping, but getting older and have a cross country trip with the wife this coming fall. We camp in areas with rough roads and switchbacks too tight for a 25+ ft trailer. At the same time we wanted something with a heated underbelly, full fridge and freezer, walk around queen bed, and double axle. We ended up signing papers on a keystone bullet 204rbw. Picking it up Monday. I'm very mechanically handy but still have a few questions starting out.
First, it has a Murphy bed. Anyone upgrade theirs with mattress toppers or pads?
How long will the fridge run on two 20gal tanks? Roughly.
Has anyone got a solar kit off Amazon? Looking at the 200watt kits. This should help us dry camping and on our long trips.
Anything in particular I should check on pickup?

I've been reading the stickies and FAQs for days. Thanks for the help. Nice to have help when jumping into this.
2011 ram 3500. Cummins 68rfe. EFI live. 276k miles and climbing.
2017 keystone bullet 204
8 REPLIES 8

Redwoodcamper
Explorer
Explorer
Great responses. Thanks for the help. I understand that 6v batteries don't hold more power or anything, it just seems like they are more cost effective and take a little more abuse. I am also thinking of hooking up some larger gauge wire from my truck batteries to help charge faster when I travel. I don't expect to use that much electricity. Just me and the wife.
2017 keystone bullet 204

afidel
Explorer II
Explorer II
For the propane question this was shamelessly stolen from another forum: