cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best truck for Northern Lite 10-2

TCjeff
Explorer
Explorer
My wife and I just ordered a 2020 Northern Lite 10-2 LE and are now shopping for a truck. I hoping to get some advice on which would be the best truck for our camper.

We're planning a 1 year trip all around Canada and the US. When we get back I will go back to work part-time, easing into retirement and use the camper for trips down south in the winter.

I'm a real newbie to truck camping. As well I'm a city boy (Montreal Canada) and knew nothing about trucks until we decided buy a TC and I starting doing research on the web, including this forum. Based on what I've learnt so far I’m thinking 3500 or F-350, 4wd, air bags. I’m not biased between Ford, GM or Ram so am open to any.

As well, I’m uncertain regarding gas or diesel, and srw vs dually. We plan to boondock a fair bit and would like to be able to access off the road type campsites ... but nothing too crazy!

Thanks in advance for the help!
92 REPLIES 92

srschang
Nomad
Nomad
It's not just Ford. I went to the Ram website as I'm also considering another Ram. For 2019, just 3500s, the hauling capacity ranges from 3720# (Laramie Longhorn diesel crew cab SRW SB 4x4) to 7680# (Tradesman 6.4 Hemi regular cab DRW LB 4x2). With 358 variations and different hauling capacities. In the 3500 series alone!!

2022 Ram 3500 Dually Crewcab Longbed Cummins, 2019 Northstar 12 STC

jimh406
Explorer III
Explorer III
As people have said here, it’s a marketing more than an actual number, but that’s all we have.

'10 Ford F-450, 6.4, 4.30, 4x4, 14,500 GVWR, '06 Host Rainer 950 DS, Torklift Talon tiedowns, Glow Steps, and Fastguns. Bilstein 4600s, Firestone Bags, Toyo M655 Gs, Curt front hitch, Energy Suspension bump stops.

NRA Life Member, CCA Life Member

ardvark
Explorer
Explorer