cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

2 nights around the Olympic Peninsula

GHCreekside
Explorer
Explorer
Ok this is my first attempt at a trip report so bear with me...

The wife and I ditched the kids last weekend for a few days by ourselves. Got a much later start on Friday then we anticipated due to unexpectedly being held over at work for six hours but finally left at 3pm. Stopped in Shelton for diesel then drove straight to Lake Quinault Lodge. We didn't have any plans other than to camp on the coast so we had dinner at the Lodge here before continuing. Figured we could camp at South Beach or Kalaloch since it was the third weekend of September, but nope! Everything was full! At the fourth campground we tried (Cottonwood by the Hoh River) we were stopped looking at the map after finding all the sites full. We were about to just find a pullout somewhere since it was dark and after 9pm, when someone knocked on the truck window. A friendly Scotsman (with a name I won't even try and spell) offered us a spot to park at his site since he had plenty of room. Score!

Long gravel road leaving the campground.

20170923_095016 (600x800) by GHCreekside, on Flickr

Then we drove back south to Ruby Beach again to see it during the day. Cool sea stacks and beautiful beach.

20170923_101948 (800x600) by GHCreekside, on Flickr

20170923_104942 (800x600) by GHCreekside, on Flickr

20170923_105800 (800x600) by GHCreekside, on Flickr

20170923_111240 (600x800) by GHCreekside, on Flickr

After that we turned north again and stopped in Forks and visited the logging museum. I love Northwest logging history and seeing the old pictures and how hard those guys worked. Worth the $3 admission.