cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

(seeking advice) Furnace Wiring Burning up!

08_Palomono_Cam
Explorer
Explorer
** WE FIXED THIS ISSUE!!! I WISH THERE WERE A WAY TO THANK EVERY SINGLE PERSON WHO HELPED WITH THIS ISSUE!!! Here is the fix. The previous owner built the battery/solar system without a camper chassis ground! this means that when the camper and truck were unplugged from each other, the only return ground for the appliances that use battery was through the only wire that made a direct connection from the camper chassis to the negative of the battery, which is the furnace wire. To fix this, we connected a ground wire from the battery negative to the camper chassis...then for safe sleeping and peace of mind (backup), we connected a thick ground from the furnace negative to the battery negative too. now i have no problems at all .

08 Palomino Pop up Truck Camper.

I am a novice, and enjoy learning, which is why I am hoping to get some help! In USA Ohio. Camper was made in 2008 in michigan.

The ground wire of the LP Propane furnace keeps burning up (when the furnace is off). I've owned the camper for months and this has just started happening recently.

When it burnt up the first time, I replaced the wires and control board, and fired it up. worked great for a few days no problems.... then Last night (while not in use) i caught it in the act again. I smelled burning and went back to see the ground wire RED HOT. ground wire leading from the camper to the furnace. Immediately disconnected the battery. . Insulation burnt off, and melting everything it was touching. The wire only burns between the ground terminal and where it is connected to the camper's wiring at the nut. (see photos)

I have a Suburban NT16-SE Furnace in my truck camper. This camper sits in the bed of my truck with a thick rubber mat underneath it.