cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Repairing a small crack in the roof of my camper trailer

neu
Explorer
Explorer
I've recently discovered a small crack in the front part of the roof of my mobile home (attached photo). Since I'm new to RV maintenance, I need some advice on how to properly fix this crack. What material should I use and what is the best method to repair it? Thanks in advance for your help!

https://postimg.cc/4nSBRj6P
12 REPLIES 12

dougrainer
Nomad
Nomad
neu wrote:
dougrainer wrote:
For a crack like that, I remove the old sealant. I then inject URETHANE windhield gasket sealant in the hole to fill the gap. Then use the Dicor over the top. Doug

https://www.amazon.com/Tubes-Dow-Sealant-Adhesive-Urethane-Primerless/dp/B01DJKME0Q/ref=sr_1_12?hvad...

Thank you, Doug. Am I understanding correctly that I need to remove this sealant (highlighted in green in the picture)? How should I best do it? Just cut it with a knife?
What are the benefits of using automotive glass sealant to fill cracks like the one I have? It sounds like something from a completely different field of application.

Urethane(USE LATEX GLOVES) is extremely adhesive and does not run like Dicor or silicone. The Urethane will easily fill the void under the crack and ooze out. wipe the excess smooth, let dry(4 to 6 hours) then cover the existing edge with Dicor. YES, use a knife or putty knife to remove the existing Black sealant. Make SURE it is clean and no moisture when applying the Dicor. Use masking tape around the outer edges to prevent any possible run off and then having to clean up that run off. Doug (44 years as a RV tech).

JBarca
Nomad II
Nomad II
Hi neu,

This pic of yours,

I know you are asking how to repair it, but ideally, when a rip in the membrane happens, it raises the question, what caused the membrane to rip?

What year, make, and model is the camper? Did you buy it new, or used?