cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

New to Solar. Conect directly to battery ????

TenOC
Nomad
Nomad
I am completely new to solar panels. I know almost nothing about them. We boondocks and dry camp about 50% of the time in our 5th wheel. We have 2 deep cycle lead acid batteries. When the batteries need recharging, we have a Champion 3100W Inverter Portable Generator that we plug the power cord from the RV into by the use of a 50 amp to 30 amp adapter.

I want to add a portable solar panel such as Harbor Freight Underbolt Solar100 Watt Solar Panel Briefcase

Harbor Freight 100 watt

Can I connect this solar panel directly to my battery with a alligator clips or do I need some type of controller to keep the panel from overcharging my batteries. I think the output of the solar panel is 14 to 22 volts..
Please give me enough troubles, uncertainty, problems, obstacles and STRESS so that I do not become arrogant, proud, and smug in my own abilities, and enough blessings and good times that I realize that someone else is in charge of my life.

Travel Photos
15 REPLIES 15

profdant139
Explorer II
Explorer II
For whatever it's worth, we boondock a lot and have a 120 watt folding portable panel. It has a built in controller -- the panel puts out almost 14 volts in bright sun. We hook it right to the battery (group 31) with alligator clips.

The panel supplies all of our power almost all the time. We've been using it this way for many years with great results.

We have a portable panel (not rooftop) because we usually park the trailer in the shade. We use a long ten gauge cable so we can park the panel in the sun without a lot of voltage drop due to the long cable run.

The twelve gauge cord that came with the unit did cause a measurable voltage drop because of the resistance in the thinner wire. So we replaced it with ten gauge.

The panel is a "no name" Chinese imitation of a Renogy briefcase unit.