cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Generator Shutdown - Weid Event

bsheet2
Explorer
Explorer
Ok, I am brand new to this RV and mobile home thing. My dad had a 5th wheel but I never really used it. We just purchased a 2017 Thor Challenger 37YT. We have had it parked at the house the last few days learning the systems and putting stuff in it preparing for a short trial run. Been very hot and humid here in south Texas. Have been running the generator so we can have Air Conditioning.

So here is what happened this morning. First the house batteries were drained. I had plugged in to a 120 volt 15 amp plug to keep the batteries charged last night. I did turn on the refrigerator to let it run over night just to see how it does. I did turn on the Inverter but nothing else was turned on. Latter in the day I found the breaker had tripped on that 15 amp circuit. I assume refrigerator caused that since that same circuit has flood lights and a small refrigerator on it. I assume this caused the batteries to drain. But that is not the weird part.

I started the RV engine and got the generator started. Got the aircon going on both units. Refrigerator was still on as well as inverter. Things seemed to be working ok. Figured the house batteries would recharge. After about an hour the generator shut down. I happened to
be standing outside by the RV. I heard a noise from the forward aircon unit and a lot of water surged out from the unit and down the side of the RV. I went inside and the interior lights were flashing and then all went dark.

Well house batteries were not charged yet. So started the engine. And tried to restart the generator. Took a good bit of cranking but it finally started. Turned on both aircon units Turned off refrigerator and turned off the inverter. The generator ran all day now without a hitch.