cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Battery drain over winter

Gjac
Explorer III
Explorer III
I fully charged my 2 6V Sam's Club GC batteries as well as my 12v starting battery in Oct when I winterized the MH. I checked the SOC yesterday and the house batteries were still at 80%. Each year I expect to buy new batteries in spring because these are 16 years old. I have been leaving them off the charger all winter since new in 2007. On my starting battery I disconnected the neg post over winter and that battery only saw a 5% drop in voltage. I post this because a lot of people ask this question about whether to remove their batteries for winter storage and bring them into the house or keep a trickle charger on all winter and all year for that matter. Keeping them on a smart charger or trickle charger seems safer and I realize more batteries die from sulfation, but there is still a chemical reaction taking place while charging and some plate shedding going on. Even during camping season, the MH stays unplugged until they self-discharge 20% then they get fully charged. I'm just curious what others on here do to extend the life of their batteries?
5 REPLIES 5

Gjac
Explorer III
Explorer III
Another thing I observed, is that my smart charger does not fully charge the batteries. I am guessing it charges to 95-97% SOC, because when I float charge with my old Magnatec 950 constant converter/charger at 13.6v for a few days after the smart charger says full, I can dry camp for a few more days without generator recharge. I have no way of quantifying this, but I think that this automatic charging to 97% or so when you keep your MH plugged in, builds up sulfate over time because the batteries never see 100% SOC. I don't know if anyone else on here has observed this or read anything about it.

pianotuna
Nomad II
Nomad II
Gjac,

Keep on doing what you have been.
Regards, Don