cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

12 volt Refrigerator

camper_ron
Explorer
Explorer
Looking to purchase a small moterhome to go to Alaska. Some of them have exclusively 10CU 12 volt Stainless Steel Refrigerator. I have no information or experience with this type of refrigerator any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks !
29 REPLIES 29

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
Vintage465 wrote:
theoldwizard1 wrote:
corvettekent wrote:
You would be much better off with a propane refrigerator.

That is debatable ! You could be in big trouble if you run out of propane and there is no refill station nearby.

With adequate solar and batteries a 12V compressor refrigerator is far superior to any propane evaporative refrigerator, especially when the outside temps are in the 80s or above.

I certainly would have a generator, even a 2000W portable. Also a DC-DC charger.

I think you'd really have to be asleep at the wheel if you run out of propane. With 2-7.5 gallon tanks, I've gone 30 days with no fill ups and using the water heater too. No furnace for that thirty days though. I'd be thinking in a thirty day period one should be able to come across some propane to fill the tanks.

More like the typical "sky could fall" post in virtually every thread on here.
And, I man, yeah, like, a DC fridge is totally more reliable, if you forget to refill your propane for like 3 months, as long as you carry 2 generators and a DC-DC charger!

roflmao
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5โ€ turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

camper_ron
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for the link! Verified my fear of purchasing a soly 12 volt equipt RV. Now I have another thing to put on my bucket list, Australia looks like a great adventure.

Tanks again!

JimK-NY wrote: