cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Paper towels

DutchmenSport
Explorer
Explorer
I was just on the Trailer Life web site surfing around and reading some articles when I ventured over to the 10 Minute Tech section and found this tid bit: Click here about securing paper towels on a hanger in the wind by using a simple headband over the roll. Nice idea.

So anyway, I thought I'd share my solution to this problem. But the "problem" goes deeper than just a roll of paper towel unrolling in the wind or unwinding on the roll when in transit on the road too. There's other considerations when selecting paper towel.

First, is the cost. Second is the absorbency of the actual paper towel. Third is how easy it unrolls or in this case, how easy it does not unroll when you don't want it to.

Here's my solution to all the above.

As I am an avid carpenter, always fiddling with something made of wood, staining, and sanding something all the time, I found years and years ago one of the best and most handy products to have around are paper "shop towels".

You won't find them with the kitchen paper towels or toilet paper section of the local WalMart or Lowes. You'll find them in the tools section, or the hardware section.

First, they are really cheap for what you get compared to what you pay for regular kitchen paper towels. They don't look pretty, but they are compact on that roll and you get much, much, much more paper on the same size roll that you would get with your standard "Bounty" or other kitchen style paper towel. So, per roll, per sheet, the shop towels are way cheaper. You're not paying for fluffed up air!

Next, they are extremely absorbent. That's why they work so well with gasoline spills, paint clean up, varnish removal, grease and oil. And ... talking about grease and oil, the paper towel does not know the difference between motor oil or chicken grease on a counter top..... beginning to see a connection here?