cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Breakowns while travelling

scottyballs
Explorer
Explorer
Live in southern Ontario. Bought my truck and fifth wheel 5 years ago. Been taking winter vacations in Florida the past 3 years. This past spring there was an issue with the truck and I had an incredibly stressful 4 day drive home.

Just because we have a trailer and manage to get a short vacation in Florida, does not mean we are wealthy. The opposite is true. We have to scrimp and save for each trip.

Anyway, we made it home safely, without incident. But it got me wondering how many other RVers have acttually broken down, perhaps in the hills of Tennesse or some other remote place. I am a writer and would like to do some research about this. Tell me your story.

Where ddoes one start? Who do you call? If the tow truck takes your truck, do you leave your trailer on the side of the road. Where do you stay? How do you get there? Do you trust the people fixing your truck?

I'd like to hear as may stories as possible. Private message me and I'll give you my email if you do not want to post on this site.
39 REPLIES 39

jplante4
Explorer
Explorer
So far his trip I covered the toad with Dextron II from a pressure switch leak and then anti-freeze from a leak in the radiator expansion tank. Both were fixed on the road, although I needed to get to a Ford dealer for the expansion tank.

Note to self: don't buy a white toad.
Jerry & Jeanne
1996 Safari Sahara 3530 - 'White Tiger'
CAT 3126/Allison 6 speed/Magnum Chassis
2014 Equinox AWD / Blue Ox

mikefos
Explorer
Explorer