cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Ball Height Adjustment Questions

240vPlug
Explorer
Explorer
Greetings all, I have a Fastway e2 weight distribution hitch (non-round bar type). Was originally setup for a Honda Pilot about a year ago.

We got a new vehicle and when connected the tongue is pitched upward significantly. The new vehicle sits higher and has air bags. I know we probably shouldn't have towed with it until we adjusted but we are already on a trip and would like to adjust before making the 600 mile trek back.

This vehicle (a Rivian R1S) tow capacity is 7700 lbs so quite a bit more than the pilot. The trailer is a 22 Apex 245 BHS with a dry weight of about 4700 lbs. With our stuff, a couple gallons in black/gray tanks, and full propane its probably slight over 5000 lbs.

While towing there is a ton of sway when vehicles pass. I am getting the push/pull. It seems to be mostly fine as long as no vehicles are near.

I am fairly new to towing and RV life as we just got our first TT about 15 months ago.

I believe all I have to do is just lower the ball height. Right now the shank is in rise orientation. So I need to remove the assembly from the shank and remount it to the shank in the opposite direction so that I can use the shank in the drop position.

I have a couple questions:

What is the best way to remove the shank bolts since they are torqued to 250 ft lbs?

Do I need to replace any hardware such as nuts or washers?

Any other considerations that I am missing?

TIA
22 REPLIES 22

blt2ski
Scooby,

My weight effect numbers are an example only. I do feel as the hitch goes up, ea inch or degree rise if you will, the amount lessoned will increase more at the say 5th degree inch than first, tenth degree more than 5th! Likewise, as you lower, the 10th degree, more hw than 5th, whis us more than the first degree.