cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Awning Separation Repair

oyarsa
Explorer
Explorer
Any suggestions how I fix this? Or do I? I am capable of some repairs, but I would say I am a novice.

I believe this was caused because we did not cover our trailer early enough this past winter. We received several inches of snow that managed to accumulate on the awning, despite it being retracted.

I have not tried screwing the screws back in. I assume there was originally some kind of adhesive as well as the screws?

9 REPLIES 9

fj12ryder
Explorer II
Explorer II
That's the main reason for the butyl tape, it's supposed to help seal around the screw holes so that doesn't happen.
Howard and Peggy

"Don't Panic"

mosseater
Explorer
Explorer
When my screw holes stripped out holding the transition metal strip from front tin to roof rubber, I found it was because there was leakage around the screws and the wood had rotted away. Make sure the sub structure is sound before just screwing it back in place.
"It`s not important that you know all the answers, it`s only important to know where to get all the answers" Arone Kleamyck
"...An unarmed man can only flee from evil, and evil is not overcome by fleeing from it." Col. Jeff Cooper
Sunset Creek 298 BH

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
To the above discussion, OP just determine whatโ€™s there now and decide for yourself. At a minimum id pooky the screw holes.
If theyโ€™re stripped you can do a few things short of larger screws.
Epoxy the holes full and re drill a pilot hole. Or, what I commonly do, insert a small piece of stranded copper wire or a cutoff zip tie and then the screws will hold.

And yes theyโ€™re probably stripped as they obviously didnโ€™t unscrew looking at the pic.
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5โ€ turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

fj12ryder
Explorer II
Explorer II