cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Advice for Long Distance Towing

ChristyFord
Explorer
Explorer
My husband, toddler, 2 dogs, and I will be taking a 2 week road trip cross-country (Augusta, GA to Seattle, WA) with an SUV and TT. I've read mentions of how this kind of trip should be handled differently than a weekend trip to the lake. What kind of things do we need to know and keep in mind in this case?

Note: my husband and I have no experience towing a TT yet, so lay it on me!
68 REPLIES 68

ChristyFord
Explorer
Explorer
Grit dog wrote:
Didn't know you were considering a jeep, but good choice on the EcoD. Very capable rig for mid size TTs and far and away the best fuel economy.
When are you all leaving for AK? Have to be excited.

Yes, we've come to our senses and are getting the truck instead of the JGC. And since it will be my husband's daily commute vehicle, he's happier about it, of course ๐Ÿ™‚

We're leaving late March/early April, but we'll be putting the rig on a cargo ship in Seattle and flying separately rather than driving through Canada.

gmw_photos
Explorer
Explorer
My advice for a trip like that is figure out how long you think it will take.

Then leave one week earlier than that.

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
Didn't know you were considering a jeep, but good choice on the EcoD. Very capable rig for mid size TTs and far and away the best fuel economy.
When are you all leaving for AK? Have to be excited.
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5โ€ turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

Passin_Thru
Explorer
Explorer
No one can average 50 MPH with dogs and kids. I ran Class 8 trucks and they would run 80 MPH out west and we had to do around 65 from Il east to Baltimore. I could only average 50 MPH, no kids,no pets and running 4 hr stopping sometimes 10 in and fueling every 500 miles. Have fun with that one,. You're going to run 12 hrs a day and push it hard.