cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Advice for Long Distance Towing

ChristyFord
Explorer
Explorer
My husband, toddler, 2 dogs, and I will be taking a 2 week road trip cross-country (Augusta, GA to Seattle, WA) with an SUV and TT. I've read mentions of how this kind of trip should be handled differently than a weekend trip to the lake. What kind of things do we need to know and keep in mind in this case?

Note: my husband and I have no experience towing a TT yet, so lay it on me!
68 REPLIES 68

ChristyFord
Explorer
Explorer
Another quick road trip question. I'm looking at our route for our road trip and wondering about mid-day stops between campsites. What if we want to go into a city/town for lunch or something where it wouldn't be wise to haul our trailer with us... do we pass or do people temporarily park their trailers somewhere for this purpose? For example, do camp grounds allow short term without booking an overnight stay? ...Or is this a dumb question?

Campinfan
Explorer III
Explorer III
DutchmenSport wrote:
(I'm not going to discuss your trailer type and tow vehicle type here, and try to stay on your topic.)

First ... your speed. Regardless of how far you tow a trailer, you can expect an estimated "average" of 50 mph. The longer the distance you are traveling, the more true this is. Meaning ... you are physically traveling only 50 miles every hour. This takes into account rest stops, fuel stops, food stops, bathroom breaks, and just time to stretch.

Speed? You do not want to tow any faster than what your trailer tires are rated for. (Most) are rated at 65 mph. Different tires may have an 80 mph rating. Most likely, if your's is the original tires on your camper, they are rated at 65 mph. You do not want to travel any faster than that.

More than likely, your true highway speed will be, between 60 and 62 mph.

(but your over all average for the trip, will still be 50 miles an hour).