cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

New Member and Question

chrismct
Explorer
Explorer
Hey everyone I'm new to the motorhome life with a new to me 1999 Holiday Rambler Vacationer. The family and I are planning a shakedown cruise at the end of the month to Missouri, NC and then back to Florida. I had planned on using out 2011 Dodge Nitro 4x4 as our toad but all forums I have visited say no no no. The owners manual even says no to any form of towing. I was a mechanic for 20 years and think it can be towed. As long as the drive shaft is removed the rear wheels should spin freely so a tow dolly should work. Thoughts?
21 REPLIES 21

sundance_8
Explorer
Explorer
Not familiar with your toad but I towed our Landcruiser to Alaska and back with it backed onto the dolly and the steering wheel tied down. Four wheel drive was in neutral. They said it couldn't be done but the Landcruiser is still going strong.
www.threedogsandus.com

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
WHile I do not know the car you are speaking of I do know a bit about cars in general and towing..

But first go to RemcotowingUSA and on the Store Link enter your purposed towed's vital stats (Make model. year. engine. tranny body style) and see what the experts say on the big frame to the right.

Now... Some cars today have weird steering .. Towing them 4 down will seriously stress the steering system..

others have strange suspension and they need to have the engine running if they are going to bounce down the freeway.> EVEN IF ON A FULL TRAILER there is something special you need to do to tow or they will be damaged. That something special may be as simple as flipping a hidden switch. but I'm not going to risk liability by naming makes, models or where switch hides.
Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times

Horsedoc