Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Looking for Class A - Newbie Needs Help

saenzm
Explorer
Explorer
Team,
Looking for a little wisdom and guidance here. I am leaning towards buying a used class A. I am new to the Class A scene and don;t know much about them. Hoping I could get some nuggets from you guys.

From some research I have done, looks like Diesel Pusher is the way to go. Is that the consensus?

What else should I consider when going used besides the obvious = records? Any brands I should stay away from?

I am considering selling my house and buying an RV site and living in it. Goal is to simplify my life. So do I need to consider the age and length (park mandates)?

Thanks!
-Mark
24 REPLIES 24

frankdamp
Explorer
Explorer
My only input is get a rig long enough to have a separate bedroom. We started out with a weird Class C, but sold it within the first season. We did much more research and decided on a Class A that was 32' long and had a permanent bedroom in back, with its own slide-out.

One major advantage was that the sale was local (30 miles from home) and it was being sold by the original owners since they weren't able to use it any more because of medical problems. At 8 years old it had 12,000 miles on the clock and 44 hours on the generator.

We found one major problem after our first trip - the topper over the bedroom slide leaked. Not a difficult fix, and no major damage. I only had to replace the cabinets over the bed.

After 4 years and about 8,000 miles, we concluded that, although 8 mpg was pretty good for a rig its size, we couldn't afford the gas prices. They were around $4.50/gallon at the time and we were digging into our IRA funds to pay for it. We sold it at a significantly lower price than we expected, but "que sera sera".