Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Excited Newbie Here

6ofus
Explorer
Explorer
Hello all

I am new to this forum and happy to be here. I am specifically new to a Class C Motorhome forum.

A little about me and my family. My DH, four kids and I started tent camping 12 years ago and quickly moved to a pop up camper. Long story short, we are tired of the pop up. Better yet, it exhausts us. I never thought I would say that as we love the camper, weโ€™re just exhausted with it. Iโ€™m sure many of you may understand. So we started researching travel trailers but never got serious enough to buy one until this year.

We did a lot of research and have been to a few RV shows to figure out what we like and donโ€™t like. Thereโ€™s one problemโ€ฆ..our tow vehicle. We currently have a 2009 Suburban, 119k miles and can tow 8,000 lbs. so we know we eventually need to upgrade the tow vehicle. Itโ€™s hard finding a tow vehicle to comfortably fit 6 people and a dog. The kids are older and we really want to make some long, memorable trips before they donโ€™t want to or canโ€™t be with us anymore. I also don't want my tow vehicle to be my main driving vehicle.

For the heck of it I looked up sales on used Class C's and to my surprise, we can afford one! The price of a TT and a new tow vehicle can even exceed the price of a used Class C. So now, Iโ€™m back at researching. Iโ€™ve found most of my questions answered here on this forum but do have a few more.

- We like the bunkhouse models but feel we may regret it as the kids eventually will not be traveling with us. Anyone have a BH with a smaller family and if so, do you regret buying so big?

- And the opposite...Do you have a large family but a smaller Class C and if so, tell me about it.