Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

1992 Chevy Mallard Sprinter Electrical Problems

joshtb86
Explorer
Explorer
Hello!

I purchased a 1992 Chevvy Mallard Sprinter used with 31k miles on it and noticed the following issue:

When I turn on the chassis battery, none of the chassis 12v utilities run (fridge, lights, fans).

If I run the motor and the alternator is on, the 12v chassis utilities operate.

None of the AC utilities operate unless it is plugged into a shore line or the AC generator is running.

I am brand new to RVs and do not really have an idea of where to start. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

This is the carfax info

1990 CHEVROLET P30
MOTORIZED HOME
7.4L V8 TBI OHV
GASOLINE
REAR WHEEL DRIVE
16 REPLIES 16

MrWizard
no...

do your interior RV lights and water pump work, when the engine is running ?

if yes, then the path from rv batteries to house is good, and converter is bad

IF NO, then you still have the break in the circuit as i described it

you have proven the alternator charge circuit is good

you have NOT proven the batteries are good and hold the charge, or that there is circuit between batteries and converter/house fuses and wiring

like i said IF things work when shore power is on

look for the break in the circuit
I can explain it to you.
But I Can Not understand it for you !

Connected using T-Mobile Home internet and Visible Phone service
1997 F53 Bounder 36s

joshtb86
Explorer
Explorer
MrWizard wrote:
If you have 12v power when plugged in, lights etc.. work
Then the converter is putting out power, might be low voltage, but it is power

It sounds like there is a break in the circuit between the batteries and the converter/house wiring
This could be a blown fuse, but is more likely a loose disconnected or missing wire

Start at the house batteries
Follow the wire, it should run to the battery disconnect relay
Check voltage on both side ( the big stud terminals )

If the battery side is 11.8v