cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The Camper Saga. Opened a can of worms or mice..

outlaw85
Explorer
Explorer
This is a continuation from my other post about locating the drain plug. Long story short- there was a mouse problem.

1997 Damon Challenger 30RK

While flushing the water I found-
-A hole in the fill neck from the potable fill port to the tank
-Some wires with insulation chewed off (not broken) in the same spot
-A leak somewhere in the sub-floor under furnace / duct work

Not sure if I should cut losses or keep trudging along. I've already removed the 'debris plate?' underneath and could not see any of the water lines. At this point, I can only see removing the furnace to cut a hole under it so I don't have to do visible damage.

I'm new to camper owning and doing the best I can. I don't have the funds to send it to the shop for them to rebuild it (assuming this is what would happen). If it were to go to the shop, I'd probably be better off selling/trading it in.

Any recommendations or suggestions are greatly appreciated.
Outlaw
2006 F350 DRW Towboss 6.0PSD
2011 Keystone Laredo 321BH
RIP-1997 Damon Challenger 30 RK
31 REPLIES 31

outlaw85
Explorer
Explorer
Pulling the cover down for the power vent.
20170807_204050

New used AC
20170808_182911

Side view installed
20170815_184701

Front view installed
20170815_184729

I did not have to try rebuilding the shroud as my dad (again... :D) found a used one through a local shop for $52. After we wired up the AC and mounted it. I did some more tests. We were having issues with the house breaker tripping (don't know draw already on 20A) before the camper which I'm hoping is a good thing for when we are at the campground.

The new AC configuration is:
Mid AC (ducted)
Livingroom/Kitchen and bathroom

Front AC (non-ducted)
bedroom

And for those wondering, we are still under 13' (12'7" i think it was) as it sits level. Once we get it on the truck, we will re-measure

outlaw85
Explorer