cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

stupid mistake

IBcarguy
Explorer
Explorer
Well,today I made a careless mistake and messed up my truck dropping my new 5th wheel. Everything was unhooked, landing gear down, so I attempted to pull my truck out from under the trailer. The only problem was that I forgot to lower the tailgate and the pinbox smashed it up pretty bad when I pulled forward. @#&$(&^!#$ !!! Obviously, I'm a little PO'd at myself for being so careless. I bet I won't do it again though.
70 REPLIES 70

slickest1
Explorer
Explorer
I had a close call a couple years back. For some reason I removed the wheel chocks before hooking up the fifth wheel. When I backed in and the hitch made contact with the pin the trailer rolled back. It stopped just in time before the landing legs come off the blocks they were on. I was a trucker for many years and should have known better. I was lucky.
1998 Holiday Rambler Imperial 40 ft.
Dennis and Marcie and Pup the Jack Russell

Dtank
Explorer
Explorer
laknox wrote:
fj12ryder wrote:
Tango, AE7UI wrote:
My question is why even use the tailgate?
I have a service body on my truck and has a drop in "tailboard". It stays home when I use the fifth wheel.
Never needed the "board" when traveling and no trailer.
Well, believe it or not some of us actually use the bed of the truck to carry things. I know that seems odd, but it's true. That tailgate keeps things in the bed.

x2. I do have a v-gate and it =really= helps reduce the turbulence in the bed when I'm hitched up. I've lost wheel chocks on a fairly short drive, and these weren't the really cheap ones, either. I've had a 2' 2x4 "float" around the bed, too. =That= got me pulling over FAST! Much, much better with the louvered gate, for sure.

Lyle

The "service body" is a different "situation".

To add to what Lyle said - for *pickups* (with a "factory" bed/box),
the "V" gate is also the "normal" tailgate when not towing.