cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Portable Hitches

Dave_Pete
Explorer II
Explorer II
I'm new to fifth wheel applications. We're looking into one, but want to keep truck bed access for our truck camper at other times.

What are my options for removable fifthwheel or lay flat types of hitches?

I'm unsure of the pros and cons for a gooseneck hitch or a fifth wheel.

We're into a 26-32' likely length with a trailer GVWR of around 7-13K lbs. I suppose that has a bearing on types of hitches to use.

Truck is a 2006 Dodge Heavy 2500 with the Cummins diesel.

Thanks.
11 REPLIES 11

TxGearhead
Explorer
Explorer
Lippert will not warranty any frame damage from any single point hitch other than the Reese Goosebox. Example: Andersen, PullRite, etc.
I went from a PullRite 2600 to a Reese Goosebox and it is a great ride with zero bucking.
Since you don't have a factory gooseneck ball you will need to get one installed. Your choice but, be sure it is rated high enough for any 5th you may get in the future. B&W Turnover ball is popular.
EDIT ADD: Lippert will not warranty any single point (gooseneck ball) but the Reese Goosebox because they own Reese.
2018 Ram 3500 CC LB DRW 4X4 Cummins Aisin Laramie Pearl White
2018 Landmark Oshkosh
2008 Bigfoot 25C9.4
2014 NauticStar 21 ShallowBay 150HP Yamaha
2016 GoDevil 18X44 35HP Surface Drive

yellow_dog
Explorer
Explorer
schlep1967 wrote:
C.B. wrote:
Dave Pete wrote:

Thanks.

Long bed Pullrite Super Fifth.

Short bed Pullrite Super Glide.

For both Pullrite under bed mount gives you a clean bed when hitch is out.

C.B.

Agreed. For your truck there are not that many clean bed options. I had a 2008 Dodge Ram 2500 with the short bed and a Pullrite Superglide. At the end of the year I pulled 8 pins and lifted the hitch out of the bed. It is easiest if you have a hoist as the hitch is not light. If no hoist it may cost you a beer for your helper. Not that heavy for two people.

X3

MFL
Nomad II
Nomad II