cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

New TPMS

grizz272
Explorer
Explorer
When I had the trailer tires replaced I had metal valve stems put on and then added 507 TPMS . I noticed on Thursday coming home the tires on the west side of the trailer were running 10 degrees hotter and 2 lbs. higher pressure.
Is this normal that the sun side runs a little hotter?

Something happened on the way home that was really strange. I have been towing campers since 1996 and have never had this experience. It was kind of weird and a little spooky,
WE pulled in to a rest area on I43 and the truck/trailer side of the rest area was completely empty. I think there were 30 slots there and we were the only thing in the rest area for at least 1/2 hr.
11 REPLIES 11

leftybj
Explorer
Explorer
My system has 1 sensor that reads 2 to 3 psi lower. I verified with an independent gauge and now I just factor in the difference.

cummins2014
Explorer
Explorer
dryfly wrote:
cummins2014 wrote:
dryfly wrote:
I have a new 507 system and noticed one of the sensors reads about 3 psi lower than the others. Is this common?

No, but have you physically checked the air pressure with an air gauge to see what it is. It just may be 3 psi lower then the rest . You need to check all four to see if they all match ,to verify if it's the sensor or just air pressure difference, if you haven't already .

Certainly, that was the first thing I did! All four tires were inflated to 80 psi and checked with same digital gauge. The variation in inflation pressure continues as psi increases with road travel.

Mine differ a little as they heat up traveling, but when cold early morning no sun on them they all read equal within a psi. But no not 3 psi. Now that you know itโ€™s probably okay to allow for that 3 psi. Or check about warranty, possibly get a new sensor.

dryfly
Explorer
Explorer
cummins2014 wrote:
dryfly wrote: