cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Fifth Wheel Lube Plate -- Who uses one?

TenOC
Nomad
Nomad
I am new to 5th Wheel. How many of you use a Lube Plate on the 5er? I got one and it appears to add too much space (height) for my hitch to lock the kingpin in place without some effort on my part.

Are they necessary?

If not a lube plate what do you do?
Please give me enough troubles, uncertainty, problems, obstacles and STRESS so that I do not become arrogant, proud, and smug in my own abilities, and enough blessings and good times that I realize that someone else is in charge of my life.

Travel Photos
32 REPLIES 32

wrvond
Explorer
Explorer
I have one, but since I tow different campers around the country I don't use it. I just use really thick grease on the saddle.

If I was towing just a single 5er, I'd put one on and leave it.
2022 Keystone Cougar 24RDS
2017 F350 Lariat 6.7L DRW

aviator41
Explorer
Explorer
Like most others here, I use one as well. I do believe that was the first thing I bought for the 5er. Took the trailer back to the dealer so they could properly secure a recliner and left it on. When I went to pick it up, the service guy told me the jack the place up with the fork lift and handed me a brand new one in the package. Apparently they see the value as well.

Sure beats the heck out of goopy, messy grease. Especially when you have the 5er unhooked. I never have to worry about getting dirty or getting anything in my bed dirty by brushing up against a nasty hitch face.

Likes_to_tow
Explorer II
Explorer II
Cummins12V98 wrote:
Likes to tow wrote:
I found it made hitching up harder. The square front plate on the fifth wheel hits the hitch and aligns or cams it to the level position so the pin goes in easity. With the rounded front on lube plate this action never happened and I noticed the pin going in to an unlevel hitch. Took it off, problem went away.

May I ask what hitch you are using?

Reese 15K about 15 years old