cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Do's and don'ts of towing a loaded 12" tandem behind 5vr??

Duke-44
Explorer
Explorer
I'm heading south w/my side by side on trailer behind 30' 5th wheel, I have never done this before. I have to say I am a little nervous. I know there is only straight ahead. Any words of experience from the Knowing?

Thanks
24 REPLIES 24

cummins2014
Explorer
Explorer
Cummins12V98 wrote:
I think most factory RV hitches have a 300# tongue weight and 3,000# tow weight.

Mine is aftermarket, made for an RV , and adjustable on width to accommodated different frame width's . Mine is rated for 500# tongue , and 5,000# tow weight ,but I wouldn't go near that weight considering the light weigh of the fifth wheel frames , unless I did some bracing to the frame.

I tow a 7' x 10' single axle , 2K GVWR utility trailer behind my fifth wheel ,with a lightweight 10' inflatable pontoon boat for fishing . No issues with it other than I can't see it, other than the shadow. I need to install a camera , I would like to be able to see it . As far as the weight of the whole thing it's pretty light ,no concerns with hitch or the fifth wheel frame .

Saying all this mostly for the OP , also have a friend that tows exactly what the OP is towing behind his fifth wheel , 12' foot trailer ,and an ATV . No issues at all .

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
I think most factory RV hitches have a 300# tongue weight and 3,000# tow weight.
2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

TXiceman
Explorer
Explorer