cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5th wheel hitch or gooseneck for new 5er

Cptnvideo
Nomad
Nomad
New to 5th wheels, not new to RVing (2 diesel pushers a few years ago).
We are in the process of buying a 2022 Solitude (40') 378MBS. We just purchased a 2019 Dodge Laramie 3500 dually with 8' bed.
The pickup has a ball for a gooseneck.
So my question is, should we go with a gooseneck or 5th wheel hitch?
Pros and cons for each. Not too concerned with cost differential.
I'm not sure about terminology, but I think the pickup has the "puck" system. There are 4 holes in the bed surrounding the ball.
As you can see, I'm a real newbie to hitches.
Thanks in advance for all inputs.
BTW, we are selling the house and going fulltime RV.

Edit: After reading thru some related topics, I assume I have the puck system and should go the 5th wheel hitch route instead of the gooseneck.
Bill & Linda, 2019 Ram Laramie 3500 dually 4x4 diesel, Hensley BD5 hitch, 2022 Grand Design Solitude 378MBS, 1600 watts solar, Victron 150/100 MPPT controller, GoPower 3kw inverter/charger, 5 SOK 206AH LFP batteries for 1030 ah
31 REPLIES 31

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
FYI the owner of PullRite and B&W are good friends. Nice they are still making their products right here!!!

You possible have wondered why B&W has not made an auto slide? Now you know.
2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
Did a search. From IRV2 Forum.