Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Are Water Filters a Major Concern

dalenoel
Explorer II
Explorer II
Looking for info on water filters.

For 40+ years we’ve been primarily in MI and have not had problems with water quality. At times a smell but we now use bottled for drinking and cooking. I do remember using lake water and drinking from a hose and yet we are still alive. What I am concerned about is a trip to AZ on the southern route coming back through SLC, Rushmore, and I-90 on the northern route.

During my working life I ran across some city supplies that were not the best. My real concern is sediment in the tanks if we fill them or crud throughout the valves when on a FHU site. I did see the Culligan HF-150A 3/4-Inch mentioned but also can’t find the flow rate and I’m looking for that to be as high as possible and be economical. As a fluid power engineer I understand the dynamics of fluid flow. Concern for super-filtration is not there but damage to the TT systems is the main reason for looking at filters.

Is my concern of solids getting into the tank and lines justified or should I ignore the problem and go without a filter. As mentioned, in MI there has not been a need with state parks are private ones but I’m not sure of other states.

We will be going through IN, IL, AK, TX, NM, AZ, UT, WY, SD, and IA. The route follows the interstate system but we stay away from most major cities except Mesa and Lake Havasu City as family is there.

After returning from this trip I feel the camping in Michigan will show very little need for the filter system so I do not want one that is high maintenance with expensive filters. Yet, I don't want to go too cheap and not get the protection I need on our trip.

Thanks for the info.
03 Monaco Neptune 36PBD DP - 18 Focus Toad
Wife, myself, and Oreo the Malshi
29 REPLIES 29

BarneyS
Explorer III
Explorer III
Eight year old thread folks. I am sure the OP is back home in Michigan by now.
Barney