cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Royal Gorge Colorado

ddndoug
Explorer
Explorer
We are planning a trip to the Colorado Springs area next month. The wife is wondering if Royal Gorge Bridge Park is worth paying the admission fee to get into the park, or can you enjoy the gorge without entering the park?

Doug
2009 Four Winds Hurricane 33T
F53 Ford Chassis w/Triton V-10
14 REPLIES 14

ddndoug
Explorer
Explorer
fanrgs wrote:
... In fact, I generally recommend that visitors bypass both Colorado Springs and Denver if they only have a week or two to spend in Colorado.

My son is stationed in Colorado Springs which is the biggest draw for heading to CS.

Doug

fanrgs
Explorer
Explorer
tatest wrote:
Consider that I am a geologist, and have particular interests you may not share. For me, Legoland or Six Flags Anywhere is a waste of time and money, a special geological feature is not.
I am a geologist too and have lived in Colorado for 54 years. That's why I recommended Black Canyon over the Royal Gorge and Garden of the Gods and Florissant Fossil Beds over the privately-owned "Santa's Workshop"-type tourist traps in the Colorado Springs area.

We have too many incredibly scenic natural wonders in our state--geologic or otherwise--to recommend that out-of-state tourists waste precious vacation time on most of the widely advertised "attractions" of the Springs. In fact, I generally recommend that visitors bypass both Colorado Springs and Denver if they only have a week or two to spend in Colorado. Go directly to Rocky Mountain NP, Great Sand Dunes NP, Meas Verde NP, and the San Juans--Ouray, Silverton, Telluride, Durango--if you want to see the real reasons that so many people want to move to Colorado.
"Retirement is the best job I ever had!"
2015 RAM 2500 4x4 crewcab 6.7L CTD; 2016 Rockwood Signature UltraLite 5th wheel

Lauren
Explorer
Explorer