cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Military Campgrounds

JAYCOJOCKY
Explorer
Explorer
Have a Military campground question. Our son will be attending basic training May -July in Fort Sill Oklahoma. Planning on taking camper to his graduation in July. Medicine creek RV park is located there. Are parents able to use military campground if family member in basic training.
Thanks !

2005 Chevy 2500HD CC D/A
2007 Jayco Eagle 325 BHS 5th Wheel

23 REPLIES 23

zb39
Explorer
Explorer
I am a 6 year veteran of the Air Force. I was a captain and flew jets for them. I can't find any military campground I can use. My experience is you have to be retired military or have a huge disability to use them.
2017 Host mammoth, sold
49 states, 41 National Parks, 7 Provinces
2019 2 door Rubicon 6 spd.
2019 Berkshire XLT 45B
2022 Host Cascade
2021 Ram 5500 Air ride

JAYCOJOCKY
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks everyone appreciate the response.

2005 Chevy 2500HD CC D/A
2007 Jayco Eagle 325 BHS 5th Wheel

pbeverly
Explorer III
Explorer III
Son is in Basic Training. He will barely have enough time to use the latrine and basically NO free time to wander around and make phone calls.
Ridgeway, SC
2019 26DBH Grey Wolf

ItsyRV
Explorer
Explorer
JAYCOJOCKY wrote:
Are parents able to use military campground if family member in basic training.

Per DODI 1015.10 and AR 215, parents that are not "dependents" (tan carders) are not authorized to use MWR facilities. But, under AR215, the Bases Commander can authorize a guest of an active duty member to use the MWR facility if not needed by a higher numerical group member. So, as everyone said, have your son check with the base campground directly.
1994 Itasca SunDancer 21RB - Chevy G-30 chassis.

bgum
Explorer
Explorer
Best answer is to call campground and ask and if answer is yes make reservations and get ID for whomever you talked to. If answer is no ask if son can reserve for you.

NamMedevac_70
Explorer II
Explorer II